A Vigorous Defense Against DUI Charges

Fighting For People Facing Their First Offense, Second Offense, Third Offense Or More

If you have been accused of drunk driving, you need to work with a tough defense attorney who fully understands the unique issues involved in your case. I am J. Melanie Slaughter. With more than 20 years of experience working in the criminal field, both as a prosecutor and criminal defense lawyer, I know how to develop powerful defenses in DUI cases. In every DUI case, I carefully examine the evidence in order to give my clients every opportunity for a dismissal or reduction in charges. At the same time, I will give you the information you need to make educated decisions about your case and your future.

Will I Go To Jail For A DUI?

Perhaps the biggest question on a person's mind after a DUI arrest is: Will I go to jail? The answer to whether you will spend any time in jail depends on many factors, including:

  • Your blood alcohol level (BAL)
  • Whether there were minors in the car
  • Whether someone was injured or killed
  • Any prior convictions

Most times, although not every time, people facing a first DUI offense will not spend any time in jail.

What Are Florida's DUI Penalties?

Below is a summary of various DUI penalties in Florida.

First Offense

  • Fine of between $500 and $1,000 unless BAL of .15 or higher or a minor in the vehicle.
  • Probation not to exceed a year.
  • Jail time is a maximum of six months, nine months if a BAL of .15 or higher or a minor in the vehicle. Practically speaking, in most cases, judges will not sentence a first offender to jail time unless there are aggravating factors.
  • License revocation is six months to one year, although you can apply for a hardship license before your revocation term expires.

Second Offense

  • Fine of between $1,000 and $2,000, unless BAL of .15 or higher or a minor in the vehicle.
  • Jail time is a minimum of 10 days for a second conviction within five years. Maximum for any second conviction is nine months. If BAL is .15 or higher or there is a minor in the vehicle, maximum jail time is 12 months.
  • License revocation is 180 days to one year if there has not been a conviction within five years. No hardship license. If a second conviction within five years, license revocation is a minimum of five years, with hardship license eligibility after one year.

Third Offense

  • Fine of between $2,000 and $5,000, unless BAL of .15 or higher or a minor in the vehicle.
  • Jail time is a minimum of 30 days for a third conviction within 10 years.
  • License revocation is 10 years, with hardship license eligibility after two years if convicted. If a prior conviction has occurred within five years, a minimum of five years with no hardship eligibility.

Get Started In Your DUI Defense

Call my Ocala law firm at 352-414-5945 or complete the online contact form to get started.