Florida Is Tough On DUIs
In Florida, you can be charged with a DUI if police pull you over for driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) that is .08 or above. This state has tough DUI penalties that apply to both first-time and repeat defendants. Our attorney, J. Melanie Slaughter, knows the challenges you face. As a former state prosecutor, she knows the steps to take to protect your rights.
First-Time DUI Penalties
While chances are slim, you will see the inside of a jail cell if you are convicted of a first-time DUI offense; unless there are complicating factors, you can generally expect to face the following consequences:
- Revocation of your driver’s license for a period of time between six months and a year
- Years of increased insurance costs
- A fine of between $500 and $2,000
- Probation for up to a year
- Community service
Many individuals who are charged with DUIs for the first time put off hiring a lawyer. You are taking a gamble that likely will not pay off if you do not avail yourself of qualified legal assistance.
Penalties For Repeat DUI Offenses
Repeat DUI convictions will often involve jail time. If you are convicted of a DUI for the second time in five years, you are looking at 10 days of jail time at a minimum. If you are convicted of a DUI for the third time in 10 years, you are looking at a mandatory 30-day jail sentence. Should you be convicted for a fourth or subsequent offense, you could end up in prison. Additionally, you will have to pay much higher fines for each subsequent conviction.
Protecting Your Driver’s License
You have 10 days after your arrest to request an administrative hearing with The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. If you fail to request that hearing, you will automatically lose your driver’s license for six months. Do not approach that hearing without the benefit of experienced legal representation.
Imagine trying to cope with all the things you need to do without being able to drive a car. How will you get to work? How will you pick up your children after school? You need to act fast as you only have 10 days in which to apply for a hardship license to allow you to continue doing these important things.
More Than 25 Years Of Criminal Defense Experience
Even if it seems like the prosecution has a strong case, there are many strategies that can allow you to keep your license and your freedom. Our attorney has more than 25 years of experience developing defenses for clients charged with DUIs. She has been a Board-Certified Criminal Trial Attorney since 1998. Do not take chances with a DUI charge. Contact the firm of J. Melanie Slaughter, P.A., in Ocala at 352-414-5945 today to schedule your consultation.